Study Abroad

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Study Abroad.”

If you were asked to spend a year living in a different location, where would you choose and why?

At this point in time, I think I would be just about happy anywhere, but where I currently am. I guess this is one of my more depressing posts, sorry. I know usually I try and keep them light and upbeat, and then there are days were factors and events around me, put me in a bad state of mind – today is one of those days. Yesterday I wrote about rolling with the punches and living life for today, well today I feel like taking it all back (yes I will roll with the punches but I don’t have to like it and I can bitch about it if I want to!). So the thought of being anywhere is at once inspired and aggravated, as I could come up with some truly magical places, but I know it will never happen. I am, where I am and even though I am trying really hard to be somewhere else, it just ins’t happening!

I would love to be studying again, it is wasted on the young………everything is wasted on the young. I went back to Uni as an adult and loved every minute of it (yet when I was younger I hated school and could not wait to leave), I do love learning new things, being pushed in new directions, having the very best of myself brought into the fore ground.

I would love to travel to exotic places, to wake up to strange smells, sights and sounds. To be able to walk freely(and safely) in a land I know next to nothing about, so I can learn more, to experience, to live, to become part of. To walk on a new street or new part of town on a regular basis and take photographs of people, places, animals, architecture, beaches, mountains, lakes & rivers I have never seen before. I would love to visit a place that is in essence in another time frame, somewhere my mobile phone and email don’t work, where my tablet and laptop wont function in most locations (unless of course I need them for blogging, photos etc…….I know, I know I just contradicted myself). To be able to hide away from the modern world with all the background noise and ‘chatter’ to listen to real quiet.

So I guess it is not so much a certain place I am after, but a feeling, and ambiance. Somewhere in Turkey or Istanbul, the Greek Islands, Polynesian Islands, Morocco, Cambodia or Vietnam, the list is endless. Perhaps I am incorrect in stating they are from another era, but they are rich in history and culture, I see photos and hear stories of what these places are like. Once day I will find out, but probably not through study as such, just travel.

2 thoughts on “Study Abroad

Leave a Reply

