Flashback – Rider Waite Tarot Cards

I know my posts are usually about travel and photography, still life and cute kids, with a smattering of tech talk and digital art, concept art thrown in as well; so this post is a little more on the About Me; a sneak peak into my past as it were. I was chatting to a friend on Facebook the other night and we were talking about all sorts of things and the subject got onto Fortune Tellers, and Tarot and Angel Cards. I am not all that familiar with Angel cards, but it has something to do with healing (I think). Anyway I mentioned that I have a very old deck of Rider Waite Tarot Cards, I must say it has been a very long time since I have used them, in fact it took a while to even find them. You know how it goes, packed up safely (probably away from little hands) and then I promptly forgot where that ‘safe’ spot was, as it turns out in a drawer with my under garments, of course! (?)

major-arcana

Anyway, when I used to use them, way back when, I use the Celtic Cross Spread for readings…
tarot-card-14

It was a good all purpose general layout and could be used for pretty much everything. There are various different methods and layouts for readings, but this method is considered a stable. The Tarot is made up of 78 Tarot cards, each with its own unique Tarot card meaning. There are 22 Major Arcana cards and 56 Minor Arcana cards across four suits (Cups, Pentacles, Swords and Wands). Tarot cards have an upright and a reversed Tarot card meaning, not all cards mean what their picture face represents, for instance No. 13 the Death Card does not mean literal death, it can mean a do-over, second chance, new beginnings……..this can be a good thing, just like the number 13 in some cultures is actually seen as a lucky number.

Anyway it got me thinking and fiddling and finally realising I can’t remember what all the card meanings are any more, so I did a little bit of online research (boy are there some greedy crackpots out there!) anyway I found this really good site for  Tarot Meanings. Tarot readings can be a lot of fun on a cold, wet, windy, Winter’s night, so I’ll do a bit more reading and then have a play.

So what deep, dark secrets have you got hidden away?

-Julz