Monday’s Musings…

Another amazing weekend away, nothing like leaving familiar surroundings to find adventure and excitement to re charge the batteries (well for a creative soul, certainly not physically…….I’m exhausted!). Three days of early mornings, latish nights; light painting, (attempted astro) and long exposure photography plus multiple concept shoots, historical gold mine trails to explore, buildings (historical and abandoned), waterfalls, scenery, good food, great friends and the beautiful township of Beechworth in Victoria’s North East. So much to see and do, we last visited here many years ago and had fond memories of places we were keen to get back to with a camera.

I also received last week an early birthday present of my new Nikon 35mm F/1.8 Prime lens, still in the early stages of playing with it and to be honest it’s sole intention will be Portraits in the studio, and maybe some Still Life.

DSC_0395

In other news, I am in the process of putting a coffee table book together, well actually a few different ones and I am currently looking at printing options. I really don’t fancy the financial outlay of ordering and then storing 5,000 copies…….plus I really want these to be limited edition prints. I am hoping to maybe to get a few pre orders for Christmas, at this point only within Australia, but it would be great if I could get them printed and distributed outside of Oz for realistic prices.

This week I am taking things a bit easier……after such a hectic weekend. No workshops but I have a fun day out planned with a friend in the studio, can’t wait to see what we can come up with this time! I then have a client shoot on Sunday; lovely family portrait session. It’s good to get back to basics, nice simple shoot, nice basic edit and some lovely family photos. Oh and the the money is nice too 🙂 As much as I love my digital art, it does not necessarily pay all the bills.

Well that’s about it for the moment………more will happen during the week, I am sure, but until then I will leave you with a few pics from the phone……have a fantastic week and happy snapping…

~ Julz

 

6 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings…

  1. I was also planning to get a 35mm f/1.8 lens. I am no longer enjoying my 50mm f/1.8 prime lens. The reach is quite limited. I’m excited to read your review if you’re planning to come up with one about the 35mm f/1.8 lens. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

