Upcoming Exhibit

I mentioned this the other day, it is such exciting new, but has had me in a bit of a whirlwind trying to get everything ready for my very first exhibit. It is a Group Exhibit, but we all have to start somewhere………it started off as three pieces and has now spread to ten and they have just emailed me to say they would love to give me more space for my art (I guess that is art talk for the exhibition is not quite full?) – or they really like my stuff, in that case brilliant!

JuliePowell_PinkLotus_Invite.jpg

Here is a copy of the invite which I created as the original invite they gave me doesn’t even have my name listed 😦 I can’t exactly hand that out can I? So this is one of the pieces I am exhibiting, the theme for this exhibit is Urban Forest, now googling that theme is a little open ended;

urban forest

 1. the trees and plants within a city.

2. a densely wooded area within a city.

juliepowell_pinklotus
Pink Lotus

there are gardens and woodland areas in Melbourne, but not a lot of my images are really Urban Forest, so I am scouting around the edges so to speak; still very exciting.

First came picking images, now I am trying to get them all printed, Last night I had to hand in pricing list, limited edition schedules and Artist Bio and Statement………man that was hard.

Artist Bio

Moving beyond the realm of simple photography, Julie Powell creates surreal, whimsical and fantastical works of Digital Art, often capturing emotion and moments in time along with symbolism to explore reality on a slightly different level.

Born in Melbourne and living there her whole life, surrounded by a vibrant and exciting art community. While not classically trained, she is mostly self-taught with a background in graphic art and design, Julie has transitioned from more traditional art forms to the digital art medium, often depicting images in her own unique painterly style. Being published both online and in Magazines, Julie is a regular contributor to Living the Photo Artistic Life Magazine, and was featured artist in August 2016 Issue. As an Artistic Coach and Mentor for the Awake Program, as well a member of the Kaizen Project, Julie thrives on helping and encouraging other emerging digital artists, and is widely active and respected through out the digital artist community.

Writing in the third person does NOT come naturally to me, and talking myself up, feels wrong and fake, but I had some else proof read it and they thought it was great, so hopefully it will be OK.

The Exhibit runs from 27th Jan – 9th Feb at Brunswick Street Gallery, 322 Brunswick Street Fitzroy. I will be there for opening night from 6:00 – 9:00pm….if you are free and in Melbourne I would love to have you drop in and say Hi……….there will be lots of other fabulous work on exhibit too.

~ Julz