Concept Shoots – The Red Dress

A little while ago I took The Red Dress out again for another spin, this time it was my daughter (Youngest), and her flowing long hair (before she cut it all off for charity). This time I saw sweeping beach vistas and knew just the place to visit. Down Blairgowrie/Sorrento way. It was still quite warm and not too hot and my eldest daughter cam with us as well.

I have three shots I really wanted to try, two meant climbing through sand dunes, lugging camera gear and paraphernalia with us. This is both my daughters, assistant and model……we made a girls night of it.

dsc_0657.jpg

It was lovely and warm, but not too hot, I wanted several images for my Brooke Shaden 20 Day Portfolio challenge, as well as a Kaizen Group Project and also to add to me Red Dress collection.

sunset-reflections

Sunset Reflections

juliepowell_fear-of-flight

Learning to Fly

This is one of my favourite spots for long exposures and night photography, it is part of the Mornington Peninsula National Park in Blairgowrie on the Back Beach (Bass Strait) side of the point. Then lugging all the gear back down to the car we drove to St Paul’s Beach  (Other side of the point) to much calmer, warmer waters. Where I really had an image in mind, but we tried a few other things first, just as well, as it did not work as well as I wanted……dress is too big and too heavy in the water.

We had quite an audience by now, remember – Summer Peak Holiday Season, at the beach on warm night. My Daughter decided to then fall back into the water, my other daughter did a live feed onto my Facebook, I can’t seem to show you the actual video, but if you go here it might work, scroll down til you see the live feed of the women in a red dress standing in the water. Oh man was it funny, all the people watching could not believe she just fell back in a full ballgown, there were audible sighs, groans and shouts of NO! Then lots of laughs as she repeated it again………..she then got a round of applause as she attempted to climb back up the beach dragging a VERY heavy wet dress behind her!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We were all laughing so hard. What a great night out and a special memory for me with my daughters.

juliepowell_intotheunknown-1

Into the Unknown

juliepowell_thewaiting

The Waiting

I love the first two, and I have processed these last two images, but I seem to be drawing a blank with some of the others, I am sure it will happen in time. Forcing the issue does not help. “Into the Unknown” has become a Nemesis of sorts, with about six edits and I am still not completely happy……..maybe it will never be what I imagined?

Now will the dress survive for another shoot? Time will tell, I had to hose all the sand and salt water off and just let it hang to dry…….poor dress, but it has served me well.

~ Julz

9 thoughts on “Concept Shoots – The Red Dress

  1. Julie, I LOVE this!!! Some great shots. Sunset Reflections is my fave.

    I’ve been distracted and otherwise busy the past couple of months and finally I decided to login to Word Press and then venture out with camera in hand to snap a few shots in the front and back yards this afternoon. My gear has been gathering cobwebs and I’ve been feeling – I don’t know – uninspired, unmotivated. I think we all need to take a little break every now and then, I suppose.

    ANYway, your photos (and delightful content!) have stirred up some of that latent creative energy that’s been hibernating (much as myself) all winter. My retirement is one month from today and with the freedom and TIME to explore and create and do whatever I want, I’m hoping to get back into Full Photo mode once again!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

