D.I.Y Dyeing Fabric Natural Ingredients

I was playing around with dyeing some cheesecloth I bought with natural every day ingredients from home, I wrote a full blog post here. I used Coffee, Green Tea and Grenadine (Pomegranate Syrup), I figure I regularly stain my clothes (accidentally) so how hard can it be?

I first did a bit of research….oh Google, where would we be without Google? Found several different websites, all pretty much saying the same thing, so I thought I was on the right track. I washed and dried and prepared the Mordant as directed and then made my dyes……..there was a huge amount of info on exactly how much of each ingredients, apart from the tea bags (6), so I guessed. I must have guessed wrong or I stuffed something up as my Pomegranate which should have been purple only had the slightly touch of pink and the tea and coffee were very faint. Perhaps I need to dye them again for stronger colour? Perhaps I need to smash up a real pomegranate, although I know for a fact that Grenadine stains quite well…….maybe I didn’t put in enough? trust me that water was very PINK!

dsc_7894dsc_7881dsc_7877

The colours are much softer than I expected, even after soaking for 24 hours……..but perhaps that is the beauty of natural dyes, the softness; that or I stuffed up!

~ Julz

 

10 thoughts on “D.I.Y Dyeing Fabric Natural Ingredients

  1. The pink is a lovely soft colour. I know it’s not what you were expecting but I suppose you can always have another go. It reminds me of when my sweetheart put milk in my fruit tea by mistake and turned it pink.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If the cheesecloth had any amount of man-made fibre in it you would not get a strong result, such as rayon or polyester. Cheesecloth SHOULD be all cotton but sometimes it isn’t. Generally natural dyes give a softer result than expected but looking at the amount of fabric you used for each ‘dye’ I’d at least double the teabags or use leaf tea. Sometimes you don’t really need the mordant, like when you accidently stain your clothes šŸ™‚
    Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

