Monday’s Musings…

Isn’t funny how things happen? I just finished reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s book Big Magic and she thinks that when karma, kismet or whatever it is happens, it’s Big Magic….and maybe she is right. When creativity, muse, divine intervention throws an idea at you, you need to be ready to catch and run with it, or it might just move onto someone else.

As you all know I am taking BRAVE-R to the edge this year, I also believe in trying not to say NO (Unless of course it is something that I really don’t want to do), so I got a message from a fellow photography asking me if I wanted to work with a new model……sure why not, if it’s free then I am interested. A few messages were exchanged and a date set for Saturday just gone.  I am still going through a real Brooke Shaden phase and many of the images I set up with fantasy, but dark, with hope and light on the edges, if that makes sense.

I had many ideas set up and notes taken, I had only seen a few photos of this girl. What I did not know about this girl…well woman actually, she is a survivor of domestic violence. I spent the morning with her, chatting away about stuff I honestly knew nothing about; it set fire to my creative soul……I wanted to bring beauty and fun and fantasy to her life.

My Kaizen Project group this month we are working with a charity, any charity…….can’t say much more about it yet, when I read this I cringed….really? A charity, who, The Lost Dog’s Home, Children’s Hospital, Red Cross………what could I possibly create for them that was inspiring and unique. Now don’t get me wrong, these are all good and worthy charities, but they didn’t excite me creatively; and then I met Hayley…….wow – KISMET!

juliepowell_time-to-see-what-the-future-holds

Time to see what the future holds

So we had a wonderful few hours together, such a lovely, courageous young woman, who started modelling to build her confidence back up…………..WOW, kudos to her.

I am still editing those, but I did manage to sneak in a little Still Life, a Regular Random for this week, food shopping and cleaning, and even sat down and watched a movie – call me super woman! lol.

dsc_7926

This weekend we are heading away for a few days, the weekend just gone Moth was on call, so we really cannot plan on anything, it is frustrating, but we are used to it after so many years. So the next few weeks we have loads planned, trying to fit is some Conceptual Portraits this month as next month is crazy.

Anyway I hope you have an amazing week, til next time, happy snapping…

~ Julz

 

Leave a Reply

