Kaizen Project – Project 7

The Kaizen Project worked on some very intense personal works last month, we each picked a cause or charity to work for, we each created a one or more pieces of art which we were going to donate to our chose charity for use as a fundraiser or images for website or brochures etc. Through Big Magic or Karma, Hayley entered my world and I was suddenly made aware of Domestic Violence……I knew it existed of course, but I was never faced with it, not did I know anyone who was a survivor….or so I thought. Though while I was correct in believing I knew nothing about it, I did actually find out many woman I knew through my art, came to art as a means of healing themselves after suffering domestic violence.

JuliePowell_Silence from within

Silence from Within

JuliePowell_Seeking Answers

Seeking Answers

Julie Powell_Quieting the storms from within

Quieting the storms from within

wishes

Wishes

JuliePowell_Duplicity amongst us

Duplicity amongst Us

JuliePowell_Searching for other worlds

Searching for other worlds

Even though these images were originally sparked from for artwork by the likes of Brooke Shaden and various others, they took on a new life and meaning of their own after talking with Hayley. I wanted to bring her stories to life, her hopes and dreams, feelings of renewal, frustrations and learning to be herself again. These were not long, deep and meaningful conversations……I am sure these will come in time, but snippets of her life. So here is Hayley’s story and it sparked an idea for a new and exciting adventure, time for me to give back, but more on this later.

Each month the Kaizen Project, made up of 500 dedicated artist worldwide, work collectively and individually on a set project, often this is for a good cause and our time and art are offered for free. Want to learn more about becoming a digital artist, learn amazing techniques, be part of a group of like minded people who support and inspire you every step of the way, and be inspired by a world class Mentor? Check out Photoshop Artistry, hands down the best online Photoshop Course out there…….oh and if you think you KNOW Photoshop? LOL I thought I did too, seriously this course has taught me so much, from there I then enrolled in AWAKE and I have never looked back, I have learnt from the course and from people I have met everything from image creation to photography, to staging, lighting and conceptual art.

~ Julz

4 thoughts on “Kaizen Project – Project 7

  1. Beautiful images Julie, and such a worthwhile project you are involved in.
    You are right; domestic violence continues to blight so many lives because it lives in the dark and feeds on our belief that it’s “out there” and not close to home. Yet when we force ourselves to look at friends and family members’ relationships with their partners (or their parents) through a different lens, “out there” suddenly becomes very close to home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

