Share Your World – August 2, 2017

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts? Or what do you use if you need to have your vision corrected? I’ve been wearing glasses for almost 30 years and I am at peace with that, especially after seeing my daughter struggle these last few weeks trying to wear her new contacts. It looks so frustratingly awkward and painful. I’ll stick to my glasses, thank you very much.

Are you more of a dog person or a cat person? I have two cats, two dogs, two turtles, I think that classifies me as an ANIMAL person, rather than one over the other. In saying that I think dogs far better behave than the cats or the turtles, even.

If you were to buy a new house/apartment what is the top three items on your wish list? Room to move, my bedrooms and bathrooms are quite small, the rest of the house has plenty of room, just the bedrooms. Oh and a bigger studio! Nothing wrong with what I have, just sometimes it’s a bit cramped.

What inspired you this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. Myself! I know, I know that sounds a bit indulgent and self-centered, but let me explain. After weeks and weeks of organization, Desley and I ran our first Pixel Sister Studio Workshop, it was a huge success, in part due to diligent preparation. But I proved to myself that I do know what I am talking about, I can teach these workshops, I do have so much knowledge and creative imagination to share and inspire others. Sometimes I suffer from imposter syndrome, I know a LOT of artists do, we sometimes feel like frauds and think one day people will discover we are full of crap. But days like Saturday made me feel like a million dollars, drowned out all the nay sayers in my head and pushed the self-doubt to the dark recesses, where they belong. Even after all the success I have had, occasionally I feel that I am not that unique, or even talented. We are our own worst critics and enemies. I have learned, in the last year or so, to take compliments, to celebrate the victories, little and big……….and yes I can do this and will throw myself into with glee. I will even celebrate with a new portrait of me, taken by my dear friend, Suzanne Balding.

received_10213839767013886

Sometimes you just have to embrace life and enjoy all it has to offer.

~ Julz, xo