Regular Random – Milk and Cookies

So I am still currently battling no internet at home and it is beyond slow at work, making my life one long frustration, but I did manage to get this post up.

So I spent quite a bit of time in the studio over the weekend creating, planning and testing some ideas for an upcoming workshop. Which will be a Food based workshop, one of my favoriteΒ topics in food photography is Milk and Cookies and I have done various different version over the last few years.

The trick is to keep it simple, a few cookies and a glass (or small bottle) of milk. I spent five minutes with this little setup capturing from various angles, I love how it changes the look from close up (all black background of the plate) and then it softens and lightens as I pull back and expose more of the background. I varied my aperture as well from F/1.8 on my 50mm Prime to 4.5 on my 16-85mm zoom.

A quick squizz at the rules:

  • choose a subject or a scene
  • spend five minutes photographing it – no more!
  • try to see it from many angles, look through something at it, change the light that’s hitting it
  • have fun!
  • tag your post #regularrandom and ping back to this post

For more info visit Desley’s site, although she had such a busy weekend, she is yet to post hers (hint hint lol xo)