Sailaway…………….into Bliss

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.”

Sailaway Cruise
Sailaway Cruise

A few years back, Moth and I went to Port Douglas in Far North Queensland. It was our first real holiday without the children and a chance to really get to know each other again. This was the most amazing place to visit, it is breathtakingly beautiful, the atmosphere is so relaxing. We did so many wonderful day trips up to Cape Tribulation, Cairns, Atherton Tablelands, Croc Parks, Animal Sanctuaries, Crystal Clear (Croc free) waterholes & waterfalls, we went out to the Great Barrier Reef and swam with tropical fish and turtles and sat on white sandy beaches on deserted tropical islands.

Of all the amazing, relaxing and wonderful things we did, there is one that sticks in my mind…………it has become my Happy Place, we did an evening Sunset Cruise on the Sailaway. This gorgeous little yacht took us to paradise and back, we had the perfect staff, the perfect company, the perfect sunset after what had been a lovely, relaxing day (retail therapy at local craft market, followed by long lunch overlooking the passing traffic and then a long luxurious massage).  Just sitting in the nets which a glass of bubbly and quietly coasting through the waves, watching the wildlife at play and seeing the sun set, rejuvenated this tired old brain, like nothing else before or since. I had a spring in my step for weeks afterward. We often talk of going back, but I worry that evening could not be replicated………….perhaps it could. But for now I am happy to leave it perfect and untouched as my Happy Place to escape to when things in reality are driving me nuts.

If I close my eyes I can still feel the warm subtle sea breeze on my face, the dying rays of the tropical sun on my skin………….pure bliss. I highly recommend it.

– Julz